Header ADS

Amosun reduces school fees for Ogun tertiary institutions

The Governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, has approved an across-the-board reduction in fees of all state-owned tertiary institutions, barely a week after his Lagos counterpart slashed the tuition fee of students of the Lagos State University (LASU).

Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology in the state, Mr Segun Odubela, while addressing a news conference in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital on Tuesday, said the new fee regime would take effect from the 2014/2015 academic session.

Odubela noted that the state government arrived at the decision after an extensive meeting between government, leadership of the various Students’ Unions and heads of the institution.

According to him, the new regime had equally abolished the indigene/non-indigene dichotomy, as all students offering the same course and the same level would pay the same fees.

He informed that medical students of the Olabisi Onabanjo University (OOU), who had been paying N301,610 would now pay as low as N176,596, 41.4 per cent reduction, while students of the Faculty of Arts would be paying N81,112 instead of the current fee of N126,540, which is a 35.9 per cent reduction.

Relatively students of Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta will be paying as low as N40,000 for Higher National Diploma (HND), while National Diploma (ND) students will enjoy a fee of N22,300, which is a reduction of 31.1 and 9.6 per cent respectively.

He further disclosed that students of Tai Solarin University of Education (TASUED) would enjoy a reduction of fee from N103,435 for first year students to N75,000, representing 27.5 per cent reduction, while returning students, who were paying N93,465, would now be paying N65,000, representing 30.4 per cent reduction.

And for the Higher National Diploma (HND) students of Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa, currently paying N118,000, they would now enjoy a reduction of 61 per cent to pay N46,000.
The reduction of fees also applied to the other three institutes of technology owned by the state government.

Meanwhile, the state government has donated 13 buses to the Students’ Unions of all state and federal institutions in the state.

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post


Header ADS


Header ADS
Do you have any doubts? chat with us on WhatsApp
Hello, How can I help you? ...
Click here to start the chat...